top of page

Spotlight: The Clean & Tidy Home Show

Updated: Aug 17, 2023

Interview with Founder Penny Moyses.

Image: Courtesy of Clean & Tidy Home Show

Go Inspire: How did you come up with the idea of the Clean and Tidy Home Show in London?


Penny Moyses: I started following the likes of Mrs Hinch and Stacey Soloman on Instagram a few years ago - the whole home world really piqued my interest. But when I became a mum, and shortly after returned to work full-time and went into lockdown, I lost control of my home. I felt like I was failing in all facets of my life.


It was only when I found the wider online cleaning and organising community with tips on how to keep your home, advice from other working mums, and a lot of #instareality that I realised how integral online communities and support are for many of us and especially valuable for those of us who are isolated, marginalised or ostracised. That’s when I realised - I want to facilitate the existing online communities, the ones that really saved me and my home as well as bringing those people who needed such support together in person.


I was on my second maternity leave, so I would feed my son through the night and write my business plan, research on social media and look for associations. Throughout the process I have made connections with lifelong friends and discover more every day about what can cause us to feel overwhelmed as well as the solutions to a clearer, cleaner, more organised and healthy home. Helping others through the Clean & Tidy Home Show has been a major highlight of my career.


GI: For anyone unsure what the Clean and Tidy Home Show is can you explain it to us?


PM: The Clean & Tidy Home Show is the fresh, new lifestyle event that focuses on giving everyone, regardless of space, background or budget, the community and confidence to create a home that supports their lifestyle. We harness the hype and buzz of the social media home organisation frenzy and bring this into a real, live setting for a tangible and memorable home enthusiast experience! Visitors can discover innovative hacks, meet their favourite cleanfluencers and connect with like-minded communities, watch expert organisers in action and shop the aisles with the latest products on offer at discounted show prices.


Stage session themes this year include parenthood, menopause, relationships, mental health, authenticity and joy to name a few. We also explore the science of cleaning, learn how to upcycle and better understand what sustainable options there are for home products, our wardrobe and more.


GI: Has there been a stand out moment for you, or a specific part of the event you particularly enjoy?


PM: There have been many moments I will cherish, but I think it has to be when we cut the ribbon for the launch last year.....


The Shine Squad were all with me, we had a queue of people waiting to show their tickets (despite the train strikes!), the whole Clean & Tidy team and all of our wonderful onsite brands and partners. It was also quite cool getting the DM from Mrs Hinch to ask if we had any tickets left for her and Stacey Solomon!


GI: Outside of the Clean and Tidy Home Show - what does a normal day look like for you?


PM: For at least half the week I am purely focused on the show while my little boys have childcare and I am off to a networking event, meeting up with a brand, or (more often) sitting on a zoom call from my dining room table and chatting to a whole host of wonderful people. For the other half of the week, I manage a work/life blend when I am checking on social media or catching up on emails in the evening or when my boys are napping but I do my best to be present when spending time with my kids and my husband. We love getting out and about, seeing family and friends. Contrary to popular belief, I do not spend my weekends making my home spotless. In the spirit of the Clean & Tidy Home Show my home is not the ideal show home that we often see on Instagram, but it is my little sanctuary that facilitates and supports my lifestyle.


Image: Courtesy of Clean & Tidy Home Show

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page