top of page

Interview - Jarnéia Richard-Noel

Updated: Aug 17, 2023

Original Six the Musical West End actress Jarnéia Richard-Noel has been running all over the theatre and music scene in London. Starring as Catherine Howard in Six the Musical for over 3 years and joining music girl group SVN just after the covid lockdown, Go Inspire UK managed to catch up with Jarnéia to see what else she is up to.


Go Inspire UK: In a sentence, how would you describe being a theatre actress?


Jaye'J: One big emotional rollercoaster! It's not easy at all, the resilience you build is like no other but it's so magical and it's the place I feel most at home.

Image by Laura Pink, Art Direction by Marina Sardanopoli.

GI: Throughout your career, you’ve been in many productions, but Six was one of your longest - what was it like playing Catherine of Aragon? And why did you stay in that specific role for so long?


Jaye'J: Playing The Queen Herself ‘Catherine of Aragon’ was a total honour and to play her for so long, and originate a role so early into my career were dreams I haven’t dreamt of yet. I just couldn’t believe it was all happening so soon. Aragon was a firecracker - her strength & resilience as a leader of the country alongside Henry 8th - and to play such a fearless woman, I had a ball and her song ‘No Way’ in the musical is a huge bop! I think I stayed doing the role as I just felt whatever I needed to learn as a woman and a performer I still had time to do that in this show. When I left I felt I got everything I needed from it and more! Not only that, but what a beautiful story to tell every night with 5 other amazing humans as well as the all-female band. The reaction to this show is like no other and the impact it has had on so many is so special. I enjoyed living in that every night!


GI: What was it like taking that long break throughout covid once the theatres had shut down? Do you think theatres have returned back to normal? And do you think you and your experience as an actress changed?


Jaye'J: Honestly, I was happy to have a break. It came at a time when I actually just needed a breather from work, life, relationships etc. So at first, I thought a couple of months off was lovely. However, seeing how covid drastically changed our industry and really put us all in positions of uncertainty if theatre will ever be the same, was heartbreaking. We were one of the last industries to get back on our feet as so many rules conflicted with having audiences back in the theatre and how we would all work backstage. Six at the time was one of the first shows to open back up socially distanced. The joy of being back with my work family and having audiences coming to escape to the theatre to forget about normal lives and the world we were living in at the time - the feeling and emotions were so overwhelming! It made being a performer that much more special than it already was. I would say theatre has finally returned back to normal with some adjustments kept but it definitely took some time.


Jaye'J: The whole of 2021 and most of 2022 was trying to navigate keeping performers, backstage crew, and FOH workers safe and covid free in all shows around the UK, but obviously people did catch covid. You had people in the company playing roles they’ve never played before, hiring extra cast and crew for extra cover, swings and understudies on more than ever before, and Dance Captains re-blocking the shows every day. Sometimes having to close the shows and reopen them in a couple of weeks due to people catching covid and the rules at the time. It was draining but everyone did their best and always put on the best show for the audiences whilst keeping them safe also. It definitely changed my experience as an actress, coming back to an 8/9 show week whilst having 8 months if not more off was crazy. The stamina just wasn’t the same, especially if you caught covid it really can have an effect on the body & voice so that was something new to work with. I also didn’t think I'd be a swing in my career as I didn’t think I had the brain for it - but joining Hairspray UK tour so late on for extra cover as a swing for dynamites was challenging as I learnt the whole show in a week but I’m super grateful for that experience.


GI: You’ve recently starred in Millenials at The Other Palace, what was that like?


Jaye'J: One of the most fun jobs I have ever done! Number 1, Elliot Clay is a sensation and these songs were absolutely beautiful and hilarious. Number 2, I performed on an avocado stage with a trampoline in the middle for 4/5 weeks, I mean how cool! Number 3, I worked with the most amazingly talented humans whose storytelling was incredible every night. It was such a small quirky space only holding 100 audience members but it made it so intimate and really got the message across of being a ‘millennial’ and how being together is better than being alone.

Image by Laura Pink, Art Direction by Marina Sardanopoli.

GI: What was the experience of working on a brand-new production like that?


Jaye'J: I do love stepping into a new show. Even though there were two casts before me, the song cycle show still had more to develop which was amazing to be a part of. When my cast joined we had new choreography by the amazing Tinovimbanashe Sibanda. It was directed by Hannah Benson who allowed to have our own spin on it and have our own interpretation of what the characters might have gone through in their songs. Also, the audience's buzz to new writing & music is so liberating. Such wonderful humans came every night and really connected with this show. A rollercoaster of tears, laughter, fun, understanding, and unity all in one 60 mins show with a short interval. I loved it and wish I could have been in it for longer.


GI: You also returned to Six to record the filmed production. Although not your first time on camera, what was it like filming the show?


Jaye'J: It was my first time filming a movie though, how wild to say. The whole month of June 2022 had rehearsals to performing at Hampton Court then back into rehearsals to make slight changes and spacing for the movie, and certain camera shots. To then film it in a week and have x4 live audiences at the Pro Shot was probably my most proudest and also surrealist moment of my career. Doing the show with the girls again, my sisters, was unreal! We last did it all together in 2019, it’s like we needed to do it together one last time. I can’t explain fully how I felt doing it. I just couldn’t believe it was happening and the whole team we filmed with were just amazing!


GI: What is your normal routine in preparation for the roles you have played?


Jaye'J: It’s hard to say because every show I’ve done has been very different. So I don’t think I have a set routine to prepare for the roles. A lot of the time everything happens so quickly so during the rehearsals is where I really get to know my character. On stage is where everything settles and I can explore more organically with the adrenaline of the audience what my character would actually do.


GI: How did you start out in theatre acting?


Jaye'J: Since the age of 4 my mum and nan put me into my local dance school, ‘Chaplins Stage School’ in Northampton. From there I trained in BTDA ballet, jazz, tap and also did performing arts, singing classes, gymnastics and as I got older started training in Street/Hip-Hop/Commercial Classes. I always wanted to be a performer since I was a little girl. I wanted to be Beyonce, I mean who doesn’t? I stopped everything from the age of 14 until I decided to do the BTEC Dance Diploma Course at Northampton College 2011-2013. I didn’t actually go into musical theatre until I was 19 when I trained at The Urdang Academy on the foundation course & then did the 3-year dance & musical theatre diploma course and graduated in 2017. From there I have the best agent, Leagh Hicks Associates and the rest has been wonderful! At times very hard and with alot of No’s but I’m super grateful for all the opportunities I’ve had.


GI: What advice would you give to newer theatre actors - especially those who may have had a long period away from education or work?


Jaye'J: The resilience you need for this industry is no joke. When you don’t book a job that isn’t always based on your talent. There are many other factors casting directors are looking for. So don’t let it get you down. Know what you bring to the table and keep focused and pushing towards what you want. Be kind to everyone you work with or have taught you in training just because - but also because those people can recommend you for further jobs in the future. Your reputation matters and it doesn’t cost to be kind. It's not easy and sometimes you might want to give up but don’t! There is something out there for you.


Image by Laura Pink, Art Direction by Marina Sardanopoli.

GI: You are also part of the girl group SVN - how would you describe your music?


Jaye'J: Yes, my wonderful girls. SVN, I’m so glad we started this in 2020 as I’ve always loved making my own music but doing it with these women is the most organic process. We are all on the same page of how we want our music to be etc. I would say it's a fusion of pop meets R&B, meets reggaeton, meets dancehall. We all come from different backgrounds and I think that shows in our music. We also are heavy on making our music positive, meaningful and include every human out there to make them feel loved, accepted and heard. We have recently dropped a new Christmas Single ‘At Christmas’ which is available on all platforms and we have collaborated with ‘Refuge Charity’ for their Christmas Appeal. Please donate whatever you can for such an amazing charity.


GI: What was it like performing at the O2 Academy Islington?


Jaye'J: Nothing can beat this day, nothing! It was the most magical out-of-body experience, I was literally smiling so hard the whole way through the show. The love, energy and support we had in that room was electric. The effort we made to put on this show was huge and to have that energy reciprocated from our friends, family and fans that night was just insane. I'm ready to do that again and again and again. So proud of all my SVN girls and the dancers we had that night too and everyone who was involved, just proud of us all! Even though we have done SVN shows before I think this is the first one where we did the most original tracks. To have them sing all the words back to us so loudly as well, blew my mind. These are things little 5 year old Jarnéia has dreamt of, a huge pinch-me moment!


Twitter: @_jrichardnoel

Instagram: @jrichardnoel

Music: https://svnldn.com


Photography by Laura Pink

Art Direction by Marina Sardanopoli

Article by Chelsea Abbott

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page